Hardcore Nether?

A place to talk to other users about the mod.
jstu9

Hardcore Nether?

Post by jstu9 »

Ok, I think I have now died 7-8 times entering the Nether. This was my first time going into the nether with BTW. I'm new to the mod so I'm assuming there is Hardcore Nether though I haven't specifically read anything about it. I've only experienced it now.

I reach the nether and I have now counted 7 ghasts shooting at me. I have my 7-8 extinguished portals all lined right next to each plus two on a ledge above the other 5-6. I think I have run out of cobblestone (well almost) with my attempts of protecting the portals leaving walls of cobblestone, dirt and netherrack scattered about. I just don't have the time (well I actually think its that I don't have the skill ;)

I figure I have 2 options. 1) My last time there I ran towards a wall and made a dirt hut against the wall. I probably can carry some obsidian and make a portal there. That I assume will link to the one at my base and since the one I come out will be extinguished by the ghasts, I'm good to go. 2) Travel >1000 blocks out and build a portal there and hope for the best.

Ok, off to do that (well actually find my way home first... this is the first of the 7-8 prior times I don't know where I am)
Taleric

Re: Hardcore Nether?

Post by Taleric »

That is a crap ton of HC spawns!

Sounds like you are about set now aside from all the extra portals.

On that initial portal it is paramount to quickly build a shelter and gradually expand around the portal.

Roaming the nether even briefly is near impossibly till late game.

Before I pop the first portal I make sure to have 4-5 stacks of cobble just for base camp.
odranoel

Post by odranoel »

jesus is the nether that intense now? i havnt reached the nether yet since hardcore hell was implamented a few releases ago. guna really have to gear up for this one.
Epsilon

Post by Epsilon »

hey,